Tomlinson, Warner among 7-person Hall class

HOUSTON — Former Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson, a four-time first-team All-Pro selection in a career that saw him rush for 13,684 yards, was one of five modern-era players voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday.

Joining Tomlinson were two-time MVP quarterback Kurt Warner, longtime Dolphins defensive end Jason Taylor, Broncos all-time leading rusher Terrell Davis and five-time All-Pro kicker Morten Andersen.

Making it as a contributor was Cowboys owner Jerry Jones and as a seniors committee candidate was Kenny Easley, the hard-hitting, versatile safety for the Seahawks during the 1980s.

The class of 2017 will be enshrined Aug. 5, in Canton, Ohio.

The five-modern era selections were chosen from a list of 15 finalists. A panel of 46 media members and two current Hall of Famers, James Lofton and Dan Fouts, trimmed that list to 10 and then five Saturday. The last five were then voted on a yes or no basis to determine enshrinement.

Among those not to make the final cut were receivers Isaac Bruce and Terrell Owens; tackles Joe Jacoby and Tony Boselli; center Kevin Mawae; guard Alan Faneca; cornerback Ty Law; and safety John Lynch, the new general manager of the 49ers.

Former commissioner Paul Tagliabue, a polarizing candidate due in part to controversial comments he made about concussions in 1994, also had been nominated as a contributor, but did not receive enough votes for enshrinement.

Let’s block ads! (Why?) – TOP