Tag Archives: taking

Bungie Taking Destiny 2 Servers Down Today For Scheduled Maintenance

Destiny 2‘s servers will go offline today for four hours as part of scheduled maintenance. The process will begin at 7 AM PT/3 PM BST/12 AM AEST, when players will no longer be able to login to Destiny 2 or the first Destiny. Those that are already in the game will be removed an hour later at 8 AM PT/ 4 PM BST/ 1 AM AEST. The server maintenance is expected to end at 11 AM PT/7PM BST/4 AM AEST. The downtime comes ahead of the first wave of new ...

Read More »

Microsoft “Taking Extra Time” For Halo Backwards Compatibility Additions

Earlier this year, Microsoft announced that four Halo games–Halo: CE Anniversary, Halo 3, Halo 3: ODST, and Halo 4–are coming to Xbox One through backwards compatibility. That still hasn’t happened, and developer 343 Industries has now given another update on the matter–and it sounds like the games should be added to the catalog soon. In its latest weekly blog post, 343 said it understands that players are “very eager” to bring the four Xbox 360 games to Xbox One. The backwards compatibility team is “hard at work on final polish,” ...

Read More »

Robert Lee: ESPN under fire for taking announcer off UVA game

University of Virginia holds vigil By trying to avoid an embarrassing ordeal, ESPN has embarrassed itself.  On Tuesday night, the network confirmed that its management moved an Asian-American announcer, Robert Lee, off the University of Virginia’s home opener football game “simply because of the coincidence of his name.” Earlier Tuesday, a source had told CNN that Lee was abruptly switched to the Youngstown versus Pitt game. He had recently been promoted by ESPN, so the switch was a sensitive matter. News of the decision follows the violence that broke out ...

Read More »

Taking Muhammad Ali home

This story appears in ESPN The Magazine’s June 12 World Fame Issue. Subscribe today! A week before her husband dies, Lonnie Ali changes the plans for his funeral. The funeral she had envisioned is too big, she thinks. It is too complicated. At her annual meeting with the man who has been doing most of the planning, she says, “Sit down. I have to talk to you about something.” She is making changes because she believes she has time to make them. Her husband is not even sick. And besides ...

Read More »

NBA coaches keep taking on Trump

Spurs coach speaks out against President Trump Gregg Popovich is only the latest NBA coach to come out against President Trump. The San Antonio Spurs coach, normally averse to answering reporters’ questions, had no trouble this weekend opening up about the president. He called Trump “embarrassing” and a danger to American institutions, and said he was behaving like a self-centered game show contestant. He is at least the third NBA coach to speak out against Trump and his administration’s policies since the election. By contrast, almost every manager in Major ...

Read More »

Trump 'considered firing Comey since taking office'

President Donald Trump had been considering firing former FBI Director James Comey since he was elected, a White House spokeswoman has said. Sarah Huckabee Sanders told reporters that there was an “erosion of confidence” in Mr Comey over the last year after several missteps. The administration says Mr Comey was removed on Tuesday for his handling of the Hillary Clinton emails inquiry. But Democrats say it is because he was probing alleged Russia-Trump links. Latest updates Comey sacking doesn’t rise to Watergate levels Ms Huckabee Sanders also rejected calls to ...

Read More »

General election 2017: Theresa May 'not taking victory for granted'

Media playback is unsupported on your device Theresa May has sought to play down talk of a landslide general election victory after the Conservatives made major gains at local elections. The Tory leader said she would fight for every vote on 8 June to strengthen her hand in Brexit talks. Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn said his party faced a challenge on a “historic scale” to win back power, but insisted he could close the gap on the Tories. The Tories gained 500 seats and seized control of 11 councils. It ...

Read More »

Vegas taking big Mayweather-McGregor bets

9:05 AM ET For a fight that may never take place, the potential blockbuster bout between Floyd Mayweather and Conor McGregor has already attracted thousands of dollars in bets at Las Vegas sportsbooks. In mid-February, when hype about the fight intensified, the Westgate SuperBook made Mayweather a giant -2,500 favorite, with McGregor paying back +1,100. Forty of the first 42 bets placed on the fight at the SuperBook were on McGregor, the largest a $ 1,500 wager at +800. Mayweather is now listed at -900, with McGregor +700. The SuperBook ...

Read More »

Blavity's CEO on taking risks and building a community for black millennials

African-American coder blazes trail in tech Watching the protests that ensued after Michael Brown was fatally shot by a police officer in Ferguson, Missouri, Morgan DeBaun knew that the online forum that she had been working on part-time now needed her full-time attention. Called Blavity (a mashup of “black” and “gravity”), the web site is a gathering place for black millennials to share their thoughts, stories and experiences. And, as protests across the country heated up, it seemed to DeBaun that there was no better time to bring the web ...

Read More »